In the spotlight

In the spotlight

Tracey Vieira has been a trailblazer since graduating from QUT in 1994.

CEO of Screen Queensland and 2016 Telstra Queensland Business Woman of the Year, Tracey Vieira is credited with orchestrating an economic revival for the local film industry.

When she took over the reins in 2014, Screen Queensland was struggling. Fast forward three years and the organisation is riding high under her leadership, with recent big budget international films including The Shallows and Kong: Skull Island giving the state a substantial financial boost.

Before joining Screen Queensland, Ms Vieira was Executive Vice President— International Production—of Ausfilm in Los Angeles. Over 10 years she attracted more than $1.5 billion of production spend to Australia. She previously held senior roles with the Pacific Film and Television Commission and the Queensland Events Corporation.

“Taking on the CEO position at Screen Queensland really redefined my career. I loved working in the US but to be able to turn around an organisation in crisis reminded me of why I got into the industry in the first place,” Ms Vieira said.

It’s a career trajectory that reads like a film script and it all began when she was a Brisbane schoolgirl with big dreams of working in film and television.

Studying at QUT helped make those dreams come true.

“I had a love of film and television and the degree at QUT fuelled my passion for this business. QUT was where I truly found a love of learning which has stayed with me to this day and enabled me to grow with the constant change in the business I am in,” said Ms Vieira, who also sits on the Advisory Board to Australians in Film.

“Interestingly during my studies at QUT, I first started exploring gender in screen and that has now come full circle for me in that I am delivering meaningful policy to drive gender equality in the screen industry.”

Other QUT alumni to win Telstra Business Woman of the Year awards include Dr Rosemary Vilgan, Marisa Vecchio, Deborah Kilroy, Dr Sally Pitkin, Dr Mary Magee and Lyn Russell.